Track Info

Little Rock, Arkansas (04/20/13) – After three failed attempts to get their season underway, courtesy of Mother Nature, the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) Super Late Models finally opened their 2013 campaign on Saturday night at I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas), and it was Timothy Culp who claimed the win.

Twenty-six Super Late Models from four states entered the program which saw the winner’s purse increased from $2,000-to-win to $2,500-to-win courtesy of Central Arkansas Pest Services. An additional $750 was added to the top five for the feature event courtesy of I-30 Speedway and the CCSDS.

After advancing from the third spot to win his heat race Ashley Newman received the $100 bonus for being the New Vision Graphics Pole Qualifier for the feature with Timothy Culp joining him on the front row. When the green flag flew on the feature Newman shot to the lead with his teammate, Kyle Beard, in tow as well as Culp, Jack Sullivan, and Chandler Petty.

During the early stages of the feature Newman hugged the hub, while Beard applied heavy pressure to the leader. By lap 13 the leaders had caught the back markers in the caution free event, and Culp took advantage of traffic to slip past Beard on lap 15 for second. One lap later Culp used a strong run on the bottom exiting turn two to take the lead from Newman.

Beard would also quickly work his way past Newman for the second spot as he set his sights on the leader Culp. For the final twenty laps the duo waged war through lap traffic with Culp on the hub and Beard on the cushion. While Culp held Beard at bay Newman ran third with ninth starting, Robert Baker moving into fourth, as fifteenth starter Wendell Wallace made his way into the top five late in the race.

In the closing laps Culp inched away from the beard to claim the $2,500 victory with Beard, Newman, Baker, and Wallace rounding out the top five at the checkered flag.

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger $100 bonus was claimed by Wendell Wallace for passing ten cars on his way to a fifth place finish, while Tommy Surrett was awarded the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award after an engine failure in hot laps forced the North Little Rock, Arkansas competitor to scratch from the balance of the program.

Heat race action saw Ashley Newman charge from the third spot to take the win in GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with Jack Sullivan winning the NEA Super Gas Heat Race #2. Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #3 was topped by Chandler Petty, while Timothy Culp won Racing Head Service Heat Race #4.

The twin Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurants B-Mains were topped by Wendell Wallace and Brandon Smith.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series next returns to action on Friday, May 3rd at the brand new, Timberline Speedway (Corley, Texas) with a $2,000-to-win before moving to Ark-La-Tex Speedway (Vivian, Louisiana) on Saturday, May 4th for another $2,000-to-win program. For more information on the events, please visit and .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, Killer Coatings, MSR Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza,, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Taylor Electric, Lawson Farms, Powerhouse Products, ASI Race Wear, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – April 20th, 2013
I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas
Feature Results
1. Timothy Culp (West Monroe, Louisiana)
2. Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
3. Ashley Newman (Ripley, Tennessee)
4. Robert Baker (Bryant, Arkansas)
5. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, Arkansas)
6. Billy Moyer (Batesville, Arkansas)
7. Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
8. Larry Campbell (Van Buren, Arkansas)
9. Chandler Petty (Austin, Arkansas)
10. Jon Kirby (Russellville, Arkansas)
11. Keith Craft (Arkadelpha, Arkansas)
12. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, Arkansas)
13. Brandon Smith (Floral, Arkansas)
14. Allen Murray (San Antonio, Texas)
15. Shane Harris (Sheridan, Arkansas)
16. Keith Lawson (Houston, Arkansas)
17. Lynn Beach (Hensley, Arkansas)
18. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, Texas)
19. Ross Camponovo (Clarksdale, Mississippi)
20. Joseph Long (Bryant, Arkansas)

DNS: Drew Armstrong, Travis Mosley, Jake Davis, Tommy Surrett, Odie Green, TJ Hughes



FEATURE:  #71 Scooter Scruggs, #TEN Jason Eddy, #67 Dale Fishburn, #9n Jeremy Kester, #8 Randy Weaver (Mid State Golf Cars Hard Charger), #14g John Bubbus, #91k Kameron Eddy, #88 Jason Smotherman, #15n Arlen Stewart, #15 Allen Bobo, #p6 Neal Porter, #35 Garrett Hatfield, #4h Cody Howerton, #10x Jack Hulett, #3d Dustin Stuart, #32c Brandon Capps and #X Sammy Chamberlain

HEATS:  #67 Fishburn, #13 Darin Long, #r1 Allen McElroy and #71 Scruggs

"B" 1:  #8 Weaver, #4h Howerton, #19 Matt Lantz, #18 Matthew Lantz, #99h Becca Harris, #29 Michael Black and #8a Aaron Johnson

"B"2:  #88 Smotherman, #10 Kevin Swaims, #37 James Camp, #2a Alex Cyr, #77 Cody Calhoun, #11s Tim Baker and #5b James Dunkin



FEATURE:  #15 Al Bradshaw, JR., #21 Joey Bradshaw, #8ball Tex Myers, #u2 Bryce Vowan, #18 Blake Wilson, #51 Albert Bradshaw, #48 Paul Ording, #1 Keith Wilson (Mid State Golf Cars Hard Charger), #7 Larry Richardson, #67 Justin Dyer, #9c Charles Chapmond, #10 Benny Baker, #32 Chet Johnson and #88 Jeromy Wilson

HEAT:  #8ball Myers



FEATURE:  #29 Jeremy Kuykendall, #7 JT Goodson, #4x Chuck Sanders, #14m Chuck McGinty, #f1 Randy Weaver (Mid State Golf Cars Hard Charger), #82 Jayson Hefley, #01a Drew Armstrong, #30 David Baser, #77c Brad Calhoun, #51 Jeremy Kester, #56 Trent Taylor, #07 Buck Reid, #c5 Chris Carter, #44 Ricky Anderson, #66h Jerry Harris, #17w William Aycock, #23 Robert Reeves, #7d David Payne, #15n Arlen Stewart and #66g Shane Gibbons

HEATS:  #7 Goodson, #30 Baser and #07 Reid

"B":  #15n Stewart, #66g Gibbons, #c5 Carter, #17w Aycock, #66h Harris, #57d Jimmy Dixon, #37c Adam Maple, #o77 Jerry Calhound, #22 Emmett Lawson and #88 Jeromy Wilson